Please Enter a Search Term

Job lecture series

A bequest from the Job family of St. John's has enabled the department to finance a lecture series. Each Job Lecturer is a distinguished chemist of international repute who is invited to join the department for one to two weeks. In addition to the formal lectures this gives faculty and students the opportunity to meet intellectually and socially with some of the greatest chemists of our day.

This year's Job Lecturer, Dr. Helmut Schwarz, Professor of Chemistry at the Berlin University of Technology and President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, will give three lectures:

Public Lecture:
The Magic of Molecular Soccer: Beauty and Purpose of Curiosity-driven Basic Research - Can Fullerene Cavities be Packed with Something?

Monday, April 29th, at 7:00 p.m. IIC-2001 (Bruneau Centre Lecture Theatre)

Today, after more than 20 years of fullerene chemistry, we now know this can be carried out by elaborate chemical surgery. In a breathtaking experiment we succeeded in the inclusion of one helium atom in the football-shaped molecule without bursting the collision complex. These experiments, complemented by theoretical work, and further considerations eventually leadto the central question 'Of what use is basic research?'

A wine and cheese reception in the Bruneau Centre atrium will follow the public lecture.

Research Lecture:
Oxidative Dehydrosulfurization and Selective Bond-Activation by 'Roll-over' Cyclometalated Pt(II) Complexes: Theory and Experiment in Concert

Tuesday, April 30th, at 10:00 a.m. C-2004 (Chemistry/Physics building)

Research Lecture:
Chemistry with Methane: Concepts Rather than Recipes
Tuesday, April 30th, at 2:00 p.m. A-1043 (Arts and Administration building)

The Student Awards Reception will follow this lecture.

Poster for Job Lectures (PDF)
Brochure for Job Lectures (PDF)

Job Lecturers:

2013         Dr. Helmut Schwarz
2011         John C. Vederas
2009         Robert Crabtree
2008         R. Graham Cooks
2007         Thomas J. Meyer
2005         David N. Reinhoudt
2003         William Reiff
2000         K.W. Michael Siu
1999         Robert Wood
1998         Edward Piers
1997         Judith A.K. Howard
1995         Alfred Sykes
1993         W. John Albery
1992         Bertram Fraser-Reid
1991         Henri Brunner
1989         Fred McLafferty
1988         Grenfell Patey
1987         Barry Trost
1986         Mark Wrighton
1984         Kenneth Pitzer 
1983         William Ayer
1982         Robert J.P. Williams
1981         Henry Bent
1980         Pierre Deslongchamps
1979         William Lipscomb
1978         Stanley Mason 
1976         Zdenek Valenta 
1975         John Murrell
1972         Dietmar Seyferth